Schurz installed as KPA president; Ivory, Lyles honored

Scott Schurz Jr., president and publisher of Advocate Communications, Inc., Danville, was installed as 2014 president of the Kentucky Press Association on Friday. The association, in its 145th year, held its annual convention at The Hyatt Regency in Lexington.

Willie Sawyers, publisher of the London Sentinel-Echo and Corbin Times-Tribune, turned the gavel over to Schurz. Other officers elected were Rick Welch, The Madisonville Messenger, president-elect; Loyd Ford, The Lake News in Calvert City, vice president; and Cheryle Walton, The Beattyville Enterprise, treasurer.

During the convention, the Lexington Herald-Leader presented its Lewis Owens Community Service Award to Bennie Ivory, retired editor of The Courier-Journal and Times. Sawyers presented the association’s Most Valuable Member award to Jerry Lyles, former publisher of the Benton Tribune-Courier, and currently with Athlon Sports in Franklin, TN.

KPA presented its Excellence in Kentucky Newspapers Competition awards Friday night. Named First Place General Excellence winners were the Todd County Standard, Grant County News, The Jessamine Journal, The Kentucky Standard in Bardstown, The Madisonville Messenger, Bowling Green Daily News, Lexington Herald-Leader, Chevy Chaser Magazine in Lexington, and the College Heights Herald, Western Kentucky University.

A complete list of all winners in 28 categories is available at

Also the 2013 Ad Contest results are available at


Click here for a gallery of pictures from the 2014 KPA Winter Convention